Openvpn

ftor
Posts: 449
Joined: 12 May 2020, 09:22

Re: Openvpn

Post by ftor » 03 Mar 2021, 10:21

jfjong wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 01:38
Some providers, including the one I use, are offering VPN as an added service to customers. The configuration comes as packaged scripts for most OSes but because TVIP STBs are closed, it is not possible to enable VPN. I suggest adding an option for this in the GUI, to import a config file - OpenVPN in the case of Linux, APK for Android for those who chose that OS. Simple as that.
Any examples of that boxes

MisterQ
Posts: 35
Joined: 16 Jul 2018, 18:39

Re: Openvpn

Post by MisterQ » 03 Mar 2021, 11:19

I agree. That would be a nice feature. I think I know what provider you are using. I also use that one and another one too. While waiting for this feature to be implemented it works for me with vpn in router. But for end user it would be nice to get vpn in the tvip box, so I can install/configure it for end user. It is too complicated for most end users to install vpn in an extra router.

ftor
Posts: 449
Joined: 12 May 2020, 09:22

Re: Openvpn

Post by ftor » 03 Mar 2021, 11:27

MisterQ wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 11:19
I agree. That would be a nice feature. I think I know what provider you are using. I also use that one and another one too. While waiting for this feature to be implemented it works for me with vpn in router. But for end user it would be nice to get vpn in the tvip box, so I can install/configure it for end user. It is too complicated for most end users to install vpn in an extra router.
At the android you could install any apps.

MisterQ
Posts: 35
Joined: 16 Jul 2018, 18:39

Re: Openvpn

Post by MisterQ » 03 Mar 2021, 11:47

I understand that. But I use Linux. Maybe it is possible to add VPN button/feature in the settings menu?

jfjong
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 12:42

Re: Openvpn

Post by jfjong » 03 Mar 2021, 13:13

ftor wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 11:27


At the android you could install any apps.
I tried the Android OS on one of my boxes, but the other 2 I have don't support Android (bought in 2017) and anyway, Android on the 605 is much slower than QT Linux, plus I don't see the point of using Android on an STB. I use my phone for apps, not my TV. Andoid in the TVIP is for me a step backwards and of little interest in the real world.

jfjong
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 12:42

Re: Openvpn

Post by jfjong » 03 Mar 2021, 13:14

MisterQ wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 11:47
I understand that. But I use Linux. Maybe it is possible to add VPN button/feature in the settings menu?
Exactly what I was asking for and suggesting.

ftor
Posts: 449
Joined: 12 May 2020, 09:22

Re: Openvpn

Post by ftor » 03 Mar 2021, 15:01

I have just offered solution

jfjong
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 12:42

Re: Openvpn

Post by jfjong » 03 Mar 2021, 18:46

ftor wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 15:01
I have just offered solution
Sorry, which solution?

ftor
Posts: 449
Joined: 12 May 2020, 09:22

Re: Openvpn

Post by ftor » 04 Mar 2021, 10:11

jfjong wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 18:46
ftor wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 15:01
I have just offered solution
Sorry, which solution?
try to use android if you would like to use openvpn from box!

jfjong
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 12:42

Re: Openvpn

Post by jfjong » 04 Mar 2021, 17:28

In the IT support department at work they call that kind of suggestion a workaround, not a solution because it didn't meet what the customer was asking for. I work in the IT systems operations department, BTW.

Never mind. Luckily the AsusWRT-merlin firmware in my router does what I need.

Post Reply